Commission Releases List of 10 Hotspot Constituencies Ahead of 2020 Elections


TMMOTIONGH has convened that 10 hotspots constituencies has been made known by a commission in charge of small arms and light weapons.

Following the 2020 general elections that lies ahead, the commission saw it prudent, thereby earmarking those areas, as they prepare towards them.

Executive Secretary of the Commission of Small Arms and Light Weapons Jones Borteye Applerh revealed this in Accra on Thursday, October 22 at the launch of the ‘Ballot without Bullet’ initiative introduced by the Commission.

Report says according to him, he said: “Given this, the ‘Ballot Without Bullet’ project has targeted 10 hotspot constituencies comprising six border constituencies and four non-border constituencies.

“The border constituencies are Jirapa, Ketu South, Jomoro, Wulensi, Banda, Chiana Paga whiles Awutu Senya East, Offinso North, Gomoa West and Upper West Akim are the non-border constituencies,” he said.

Mr Applerh further noted that the porous nature of Ghana’s borders is the leading factor in the smuggling of illicit arms to Ghana.

“We need to influence the behaviour of the citizens through public sensitization and education on dangers on the abuse of guns before, during and after the elections.

“The porous nature of our borders have been a major source of illicit flows of arms into this country.”

READ  UCC Postponed Opening Date Of Application Portal for Teachers With Diploma Top Up Degree Programmes -[Check Out When]

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Message Us on WhatsApp
%d bloggers like this: